Vultr.com - Instant Cloud Server Deployment
DISASTROUS CONSEQUENCES 34 MEMBERS:
Home
Forum
News
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
PREV 1 2 NEXT
dc_demonslayerPM
#1
Windows 10
Aug 01, 2015 9:58 PM
<DC>DEMONSLAYER Co-Owner - Joined: Apr 05, 2009
Posts: 223
Playing around in the new OS and there are some good and bad parts.........good parts are multicore processing is faster and things are cleaner. Bad is having to look for administrative tools.
In Italy for 30 years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder, bloodshed. They produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland they had brotherly love, 500 years of democracy and peace. And what did that produce? The cuckoo clock."

Orson Welles
dc_demonslayerPM
#2
Aug 02, 2015 12:39 PM
<DC>DEMONSLAYER Co-Owner - Joined: Apr 05, 2009
Posts: 223
Too fragmented--administrative tools in 4 difference places--rolled back to 7.
In Italy for 30 years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder, bloodshed. They produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland they had brotherly love, 500 years of democracy and peace. And what did that produce? The cuckoo clock."

Orson Welles
jefejefejefePM
#3
Aug 02, 2015 12:53 PM
Jefe Co-Owner - Joined: Jul 05, 2010
Posts: 410
I'm going to wait till it's been out for a while when (and if) I upgrade from 8.1.

I didn't realize it was a free upgrade from 7 though, though it was a Win 8 thing only.
My Youtube|Steam|Skins|Downloads|Music Mod|Invasion Server|Mario Kart Tracks
dc_demonslayerPM
#4
Aug 02, 2015 3:01 PM
<DC>DEMONSLAYER Co-Owner - Joined: Apr 05, 2009
Posts: 223
jefejefejefe wrote:
I'm going to wait till it's been out for a while when (and if) I upgrade from 8.1.

I didn't realize it was a free upgrade from 7 though, though it was a Win 8 thing only.


It's got a lot of good features but you have to hunt for things in different places--the control panel is not in one place and some administrative tools are listed in the start menu, others are listed with the control panel and there is no such thing as "computer" anymore.
In Italy for 30 years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder, bloodshed. They produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland they had brotherly love, 500 years of democracy and peace. And what did that produce? The cuckoo clock."

Orson Welles
ton80PM
#5
Apr 02, 2016 11:53 PM
[DC]TON80 Moderator - Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Posts: 19
So I just installed Windows 10 and UT2K4 returns a critical error when launched. The troubleshooter tried compatibility settings for Windows 7 and Windows XP to no avail. Anyone else successfully playing UT using Windows 10?

Here's the error. The operating system is actually Win 10. I think it says XP due to the capability settings. Beyond that it's the same Error returned regardless of compatibility settings:


UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-11-23_16.22]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 3167 MHz with 1023MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (4195)

LockRect failed: D3DERR_DEVICELOST

History: UD3DRenderDevice::ReadPixels <- UD3DRenderDevice::Present <- UGameEngine::Draw <- UWindowsViewport::Repaint <- UWindowsClient::Tick <- ClientTick <- UGameEngine::Tick <- Level Untitled <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 10910191 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free



Last edited by: ton80 Apr 03, 2016 12:02 AM
ton80PM
#6
Apr 03, 2016 1:48 AM
[DC]TON80 Moderator - Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Posts: 19
Went to update Nvidia Gforce drivers and the installer says the card isn't compatible. Hmmm...
jefejefejefePM
#7
Apr 03, 2016 11:41 AM
Jefe Co-Owner - Joined: Jul 05, 2010
Posts: 410
Windows 10 doesn't play nice with Ut2004's default settings.

Look for

[D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice]
ReduceMouseLag=True

and change it to false. That fixes the problem for a lot of people.

If that still doesn't solve your problem, take a look at this comprehensive guide:

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=594282124
My Youtube|Steam|Skins|Downloads|Music Mod|Invasion Server|Mario Kart Tracks
hollonPM
#8
Apr 03, 2016 12:57 PM
Hollon Admin - Joined: Sep 12, 2010
Posts: 279
I had the same problem Ton. Setting ReduceMouseLag to false as Jefe suggested solved the problem for me.
Steam: hollon11
dc_demonslayerPM
#9
Apr 03, 2016 7:06 PM
<DC>DEMONSLAYER Co-Owner - Joined: Apr 05, 2009
Posts: 223
I've been going back and forth with re-installing Windows 10 as an upgrade from Windows 7. Do I dare?
In Italy for 30 years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder, bloodshed. They produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland they had brotherly love, 500 years of democracy and peace. And what did that produce? The cuckoo clock."

Orson Welles
ton80PM
#10
Apr 03, 2016 11:17 PM
[DC]TON80 Moderator - Joined: Aug 18, 2008
Posts: 19
Well, that solved my problem! UT2K4 is now loading fine, Thanks!
PREV 1 2 NEXT